Finding Joy In Our Journey

Our Family's Journey through Brain Injury (Both Parents), our youngest son being born with Pierre Robin Sequence, and a recent diagnosis of Asperger's Syndrome for our older son.

Let’s see how this evening goes. January 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — nicholacs @ 5:08 pm

Well, I talked to Sam’s Psychologist who is diagnosing him and he is just doing the final details in his official report. He told me tonite that Sam presents Asperger’s but he has a lot of High Functioning Autism traits and that HFA trumps the Asperger’s diagnosis. Oh goody! I have been feeling very overwhelmed by all of this over the last couple of days and thankfully the boys gotto have a Nanna day. It really helped me to quiet my brain down. This evening I am meeting with our friend who has three Autistic children and she is going to go over all the things we have to do to get the ball rolling for therapy and home assistance. I am looking forward to feeling a bit more proactive, rather than just surviving the day and wondering how on earth to cope with my son and hyelp him cope with us :).  Apparently High Functioning Autism is similar to Asperger’s but they are in separate categories. In the book about Asperger’s that I have been reading, it says a lot of the lines are actually blurred and there is still continual “medical” discussion going on as to what the differences actually are.

I was attempting to get control over my office today, which has been completely overrun with my boys’ “art” projects. I got separate bins for the boys and I couldn’t believe how many things they have created in the last year. They are like little machines just spewing out drawing after drawing after drawing. Some of them are pretty fascinating.

I am also in the throws of trying to Potty train Josh which has been very interesting. Today and Sunday were good days. Yesterday was just horrendous. Thank goodness for hardwood floors! Day 3 of wearing just undies. Let’s keep our fingers crossed! Enough diapers I say! Enough!

 

Leave a Reply

