Finding Joy In Our Journey

Our Family's Journey through Brain Injury (Both Parents), our youngest son being born with Pierre Robin Sequence, and a recent diagnosis of Asperger's Syndrome for our older son.

Another day in the neighbourhood! January 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — nicholacs @ 8:25 am

Well I am still wobbly from doing a Crossfit workout at home instead of the gym. I do Crossfit as high intensity alternative to dealing with my adrenaline issues rather than be on medication for my brain injury. I think it has been helping as I slept really well last night. Sam came down to watch me and my Sister in law Ruthanne die together on the floor and he was so cute. He drew me a trophy and told me I had won and he was proud of me. It was too cute! He even got me a glass of water! Sometimes he really blows me away.

I was really stressed out yesterday as I got the report from Sam’s Psychologist and was trying to begin all the necessary paperwork. As it turns out, our lovely Government has recently changed EVERYTHING so what I thought I had to do ended me up in a pingpong session between departments. I was frustrated to the point of tears after the fifth person blankly said to me that they had no idea what I was talking about. I said to her that I was told this was supposed to be a simple process and I didn’t understand why they were having such a tough time understanding that I had to register my son for Autism funding. She put me on hold and came back a couple minutes later and said they needed me to have the report and then I would need to make an appointment. 🙂 I told her that I HAD the report (for the 5th time) and that I WAS trying to make an appointment. Hallelujah it finally registered that we were saying the same thing! I have an appointment to meet with them next Wednesday to do the intake.

Of course I was trying to do all this while an alarm is going off every 15 minutes to remind Josh to go Potty, and I have Sam running around me talking non stop about some topic, and Josh is strangling either the cat or dog. All while Treehouse is playing in the background. What can I say? My life is never quiet or dull! I was so thankful Mike watched the boys while I picked up the report and met with our homeschooling special needs coordinator. What bliss to be driving in a totally silent car! Josh tried to poop in his pants while Mike was watching, hee hee hee! So glad I missed it! Thanx honey!

So that was our day yesterday! I have to do a tonne of photocopying documents for all the different things we have to apply for. But I don’t need to have that done till next Tuesday so I can breathe easy. There is just so much information to sift through and the psychologist gave us 3 pages of websites to check out for Autism support groups and everything and anything to do with Autism. In a way it is kind of nice to have a well known diagnosis for Sam because with Josh, his condition is so rare there is literally only one support group worldwide. Lots to do!

We will see how today goes! I am feeling less stressed out today and feel like I can breathe so this is good!

Sam has a Dentist appointment today to get a cavity filled. His first and hopefuly only cavity! I’ll let you know how it goes! He is supposed to get laughing gas. I a looking forward to some new stories to share ;)!

 

One Response to “Another day in the neighbourhood!”

  1. Corry Says:

    It sounds like a crazy day, Nikki! Thank goodness you finally got through all the red tape.


Leave a Reply

